Millwright and Industrial Mechanic

Skilled Trades

Job Description

A millwright, or industrial mechanic, is a tradesperson who installs, maintains and repairs stationary industrial machinery and mechanical equipment. They interpret drawings, follow layouts and assemble parts until they are in perfect working order. Millwrights and industrial mechanics work in a variety of industries, and can pursue complementary training and develop extra skills in steel fabrication, welding, machining, electronics, hydraulics or pneumatics. Construction millwrights are mostly engaged in the initial installation of industrial plant machinery and equipment. Industrial mechanics are more concerned with the post-installation maintenance and repair of machinery and equipment. Industrial mechanics and millwrights may be cross-trained in a second trade such as pipefitting, welding, machining or electrical maintenance. A day in the life of a millwright might involve installing a giant turbine for an industrial mechanic to maintain and keep humming.

DOWNLOAD PDF

Is your career goal to become a(n) Millwright and Industrial Mechanic in the forest industry?

Check out our Career Path tool to help you get there.

Career Path Tool

This job is right for you if...

  • You want to live an oversized life in one of Canada’s beautiful forest communities
  • A sense of community is important to you
  • You like variety and learning new things
  • You want to make a difference working in a green job
  • You enjoy troubleshooting and preventive maintenance
  • You wear the title “jack of all trades” like a badge of honour
  • You have excellent problem solving skills
  • You want to work with mechanical and electrical systems

Communities

Check out these forest communities where Skilled Trades jobs are available.

HIGH LEVEL, ALBERTA
ROCKY MOUNTAIN HOUSE, ALBERTA
FORT ST-JAMES, BRITISH COLUMBIA

See all communities

Education And Training

You should finish high school before pursuing a career as a millwright or industrial mechanic. Then you will need to complete a three- to five-year apprenticeship program or a combination of work experience in the trade and some high school, college or industry courses over five years. Certification is required by all provinces. An interprovincial Red Seal endorsement is also available to allow your skills to be officially recognized across Canada.

Apprenticeship grants: Apprentices can receive up to $4,000 in grants to pay tuition, travel, tools, or other expenses. If you are considering an apprenticeship, visit Red Seal for information on how to get started.

Centennial College of Applied Arts and Technology
Northern Lights College
Olds College

See all schools

NOTE

The requirements listed are generally required qualifications for this Career Type. The qualifications may vary based on the employer and/or the geographic location of that job.

FORECASTED JOBS

Use this tool to get job forecasts for the next five years. You’ll see what kinds of jobs are in demand and where.

2019
2020
2021
2022
2023

Plan Your Career

DARE TO COMPARE

See how much you’ll save moving to a forest community.



* 2016 National Household Survey data not available. Comparative data has been used.

Compare

Working on it...

Mécanicien(ne) industriel(le)

Métiers spécialisés

Descriptions d’emploi

Les mécaniciens-monteurs (ou mécaniciens industriels) sont des gens de métier chargés d’installer, d’entretenir et de réparer des machines industrielles fixes ou d’autres équipements industriels. Ils sont en mesure d’interpréter des plans, de suivre des schémas et d’assembler des pièces pour assurer un fonctionnement adéquat. Les mécaniciens-monteurs et les mécaniciens industriels sont appelés à travailler dans divers secteurs de l’industrie, et ont la possibilité de suivre d’autres formations pour développer des compétences supplémentaires en vue d’assumer diverses tâches associées à la fabrication de l’acier, à la soudure, à l’usinage ou encore aux procédés électroniques, hydrauliques ou pneumatiques. Les mécaniciens de construction participent surtout à l’installation initiale de machinerie ou d’équipements industriels dans les usines; quant aux mécaniciens industriels, ils s’a‑airent davantage aux réparations et à l’entretien ultérieurs des mêmes machines et équipements. Les mécaniciens industriels et les mécaniciens-monteurs ont la possibilité de suivre une formation parallèle liée à un autre corps de métier, notamment comme tuyauteur, soudeur, technicien d’usinage ou responsable de l’entretien électrique. À titre d’exemple, le mécanicien-monteur pourrait être appelé, un jour ou l’autre, à installer une turbine géante dont l’entretien et le bon fonctionnement seront ensuite confiés à un mécanicien industriel.

TÉLÉCHARGER LE PDF

est-ce que votre cheminement de carrière est votre objectif d’être un Mécanicien(ne) industriel(le) dans l’industrie forestière?

Consultez notre outil de cheminement de carrière pour vous aider à y arriver.

L’outil de cheminement de carrière

Ce poste est pour vous si...

  • Vous souhaitez une vie plus grande que nature, au sein de l’une des admirables collectivités forestières du Canada
  • Vous avez à coeur le sentiment d’appartenance à la communauté
  • Vous appréciez la diversité et l’apprentissage de nouvelles connaissances
  • Vous souhaitez changer les choses en évoluant dans un contexte
  • écologique
  • Vous aimez la résolution de problèmes et l’entretien préventif
  • Le titre d’« homme à tout faire » vous va comme un gant
  • Vous manifestez de bonnes aptitudes pour la résolution de problèmes;
  • Vous souhaitez travailler avec des systèmes mécaniques et électriques

Communautés Forestières

Jetez un coup d’œil à ces communautés forestières où Métiers spécialisés emplois sont disponibles.

HIGH LEVEL, ALBERTA
ROCKY MOUNTAIN HOUSE, ALBERTA
FORT ST-JAMES, BRITISH COLUMBIA

Voir toutes les communautés

Études et formation

Un diplôme d’études secondaires est nécessaire pour envisager une carrier à titre de mécanicien industriel ou de mécanicien-monteur. On exigera par ailleurs d’avoir terminé un programme d’apprentissage d’une durée de trois à cinq ans, ou de posséder une combinaison d’expérience de travail répartie sur au moins cinq ans dans le domaine, assortie de quelques cours secondaires, collégiaux ou de formation sectorielle. La reconnaissance des compétences est exigée dans toutes les provinces. On peut également obtenir une reconnaissance interprovinciale Sceau rouge qui assure une reconnaissance officielle des compétences à l’échelle canadienne.

Subventions aux apprentis : Les apprentis sont admissibles à des subventions allant jusqu’à 4 000 $ pour payer les frais d’études, les déplacements, les outils ou d’autres dépenses. Si vous envisagez de devenir apprenti, veuillez consulter le site du programme Sceau rouge pour en savoir davantage sur les démarches initiales.

Collège Lakeland
North Island College
Collège Georgian des arts appliqués et de la technologie

Voir toutes les écoles

REMARQUER

Les exigences indiquées sont généralement des compétences requises pour ce type de carrière. Les qualifications peuvent varier en fonction de l’employeur et/ou de l’emplacement géographique de l’emploi.

EMPLOIS PRÉVUS

Utilisez cet outil pour obtenir des prévisions d’emploi pour les cinq prochaines années. Vous verrez quels types d’emploi est en demande et à quel endroit.

2019
2020
2021
2022
2023

planifiez votre carrière

OSEZ COMPARER

Voyez combien vous pourriez épargner dans une localité forestière.



* Données de l’Enquête nationale auprès des ménages non disponibles de 2016. Des données comparatives ont été utilisées.

comparer

J'y travaille...