Welder

Skilled Trades

Job Description

Welders cut and join pieces of metal. Welders may also work as machine operators who operate previously set-up welding, brazing and soldering equipment. Working as a welder for a forest product company means you will be in a fast-paced environment. Fixing broken equipment may mean you have to step in and manage a situation without much notice. Welding is physically demanding, and it requires manual dexterity and an eye for detail. Welder Level A is someone who has advanced training, skills and abilities to weld all materials, including specialized alloys, by any manual welding process. Welder Level B is a person who can weld ferrous and non-ferrous metals on plates and pipes. Welder Level C is someone who can weld various steel and aluminum parts. Welding work also overlaps with the work of industrial mechanics (millwright), sheet-metal workers, steamfitters, pipefitters, metal fabricators (fitter), iron workers and boilermakers. With extra training, welders can transfer their skills to these related occupations.

DOWNLOAD PDF

Is your career goal to become a(n) Welder in the forest industry?

Check out our Career Path tool to help you get there.

Career Path Tool

This job is right for you if...

  • You want to live an oversized life in one of Canada’s beautiful forest communities
  • A sense of community is important to you
  • You like variety and learning new things
  • You want to make a difference working in a green job
  • You like making things with tools
  • You are a team player
  • You want to work in work boots, not dress shoes

Communities

Check out these forest communities where Skilled Trades jobs are available.

HIGH LEVEL, ALBERTA
ROCKY MOUNTAIN HOUSE, ALBERTA
FORT ST-JAMES, BRITISH COLUMBIA

See all communities

Education And Training

Getting a high school diploma or an equivalent qualification is usually required. After that, you will need to complete a three-year apprenticeship program. Alternatively, a combination of over three years of work experience as a welder and some college or industry courses in welding is usually required to be eligible for trade certification. As an apprentice, you get training while earning a pay cheque and building a career as a highly skilled worker. An interprovincial Red Seal endorsement is also available to allow your skills to be officially recognized across Canada.

Apprenticeship grants: Apprentices can receive up to $4,000 in grants to pay tuition, travel, tools, or other expenses. If you are considering an apprenticeship, visit the interprovincial Red Seal program for information on how to get started.

Medicine Hat College
Sheridan College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning
University of the Fraser Valley

See all schools

NOTE

The requirements listed are generally required qualifications for this Career Type. The qualifications may vary based on the employer and/or the geographic location of that job.

FORECASTED JOBS

Use this tool to get job forecasts for the next five years. You’ll see what kinds of jobs are in demand and where.

2019
2020
2021
2022
2023

Plan Your Career

DARE TO COMPARE

See how much you’ll save moving to a forest community.



* 2016 National Household Survey data not available. Comparative data has been used.

Compare

Working on it...

Soudeur(euse)

Métiers spécialisés

Descriptions d’emploi

Les soudeurs s’a‑airent à couper et à assembler diverses pièces métalliques. Ils sont aussi appelés à utiliser des équipements de soudure ou de brasage déjà montés. À titre de soudeurs au service d’une entreprise de produits forestiers, ces employés sont appelés à travailler dans un environnement très dynamique. En effet, les personnes chargées de réparer des bris d’équipement sont souvent sollicitées sans préavis pour remédier à une situation quelconque. Le métier de soudeur est exigeant sur le plan physique, et suppose une bonne dextérité manuelle et le souci du détail. Le soudeur de niveau A possède une formation poussée ainsi que des compétences et aptitudes supérieures pour la soudure de tous types de matériaux (y compris les alliages spécialisés), et ce, en recourant à tous les procédés de soudure manuelle. Quant au soudeur de niveau B, il possède les compétences pour souder divers métaux (ferreux ou non) sur des plaques ou des conduites.

Pour sa part, le soudeur de niveau C est en mesure de souder diverses pièces d’acier ou d’aluminium. Le travail de soudeur chevauche celui de mécanicien industriel (mécanicien-monteur), de ferblantier, de monteur de conduites à vapeur, de tuyauteur, d’ouvrier métallurgiste (ajusteur-monteur), de monteur de charpentes métalliques et de préposé aux chaudières. En misant sur une formation supplémentaire, les soudeurs ont la possibilité d’appliquer leurs connaissances pour occuper éventuellement ces emplois connexes.

TÉLÉCHARGER LE PDF

est-ce que votre cheminement de carrière est votre objectif d’être un Soudeur(euse) dans l’industrie forestière?

Consultez notre outil de cheminement de carrière pour vous aider à y arriver.

L’outil de cheminement de carrière

Ce poste est pour vous si...

  • Vous souhaitez une vie plus grande que nature, au sein de l’une des admirables collectivités forestières du Canada
  • Vous avez à coeur le sentiment d’appartenance à la communauté
  • Vous appréciez la diversité et l’apprentissage de nouvelles connaissances
  • Vous aimez la machinerie
  • Vous préférez porter des bottines de travail plutôt que des chaussures habillées

Communautés Forestières

Jetez un coup d’œil à ces communautés forestières où Métiers spécialisés emplois sont disponibles.

HIGH LEVEL, ALBERTA
ROCKY MOUNTAIN HOUSE, ALBERTA
FORT ST-JAMES, BRITISH COLUMBIA

Voir toutes les communautés

Études et formation

Un diplôme d’études secondaires ou des qualifications équivalentes sont généralement requis. Afin d’obtenir une certification pour ce métier, le candidat devra obtenir un diplôme au terme d’un programme d’apprentissage de trois ans, ou encore cumuler de l’expérience professionnelle répartie sur trois ans à titre de soudeur, assortie de quelques cours de niveau collégial ou offerts au sein de l’industrie dans le domaine de la soudure. La formation d’apprenti permet au surplus de toucher un salaire tout en se préparant à une carrière à titre de travailleur très qualifié. On peut également obtenir une reconnaissance interprovinciale Sceau rouge qui assure une reconnaissance officielle des compétences à l’échelle canadienne.

Subventions aux apprentis : Les apprentis sont admissibles à des subventions allant jusqu’à 4 000 $ pour payer les frais d’études, les déplacements, les outils ou d’autres dépenses. Si vous envisagez de devenir apprenti, veuillez consulter le site du programme Sceau rouge pour en savoir davantage sur les démarches initiales.

Collège Durham
Collège Sprott Shaw
Collège Lethbridge

Voir toutes les écoles

REMARQUER

Les exigences indiquées sont généralement des compétences requises pour ce type de carrière. Les qualifications peuvent varier en fonction de l’employeur et/ou de l’emplacement géographique de l’emploi.

EMPLOIS PRÉVUS

Utilisez cet outil pour obtenir des prévisions d’emploi pour les cinq prochaines années. Vous verrez quels types d’emploi est en demande et à quel endroit.

2019
2020
2021
2022
2023

planifiez votre carrière

OSEZ COMPARER

Voyez combien vous pourriez épargner dans une localité forestière.



* Données de l’Enquête nationale auprès des ménages non disponibles de 2016. Des données comparatives ont été utilisées.

comparer

J'y travaille...